Senate | Student Government Association | Mississippi College
Skip to main content
Student Government Association


Senate consists of the Vice President and student senators who seek to serve students by discussing relevant issues

The legislative powers of the Student Government Association are vested in the Student Senate. This distinguished body of 44 members is comprised of nine elected representatives from each academic class, the president of each academic class, two first-time incoming transfer students, and two international student senators. The purpose of Senate is to draft legislation to be brought before Student Senate and subsequently presented to administration if approved on the Senate floor. Addressing issues regarding all aspects of campus, Student Senate is a very distinguishing and rewarding way to make a difference on campus.

As Vice-President, I plan to focus on utilizing Senate to its full potential for the benefit of the entire campus. The students deserve to be heard and have influence on the university. We will be using feedback and opinions from the student body to create legislation that molds the future of Mississippi College, a future that is Christ-centered and student-focused. The unified voice of the students and SGA will impact MC for current students, and generations of students that follow.  

If you have any ideas or suggestions for legislation or would like to join Senate, feel free to reach out to me! Senate elections take place each Spring semester for upperclassmen. Freshmen and transfer Senate elections take place at the beginning of each fall semester. All International Student Senators will be appointed by the President of Senate. All Senators serve a full academic year.

I am excited for the upcoming year and look forward to serving this university to the best of my ability! I, along with the rest of Executive Council, cannot wait to get to work this fall with administration and students so we can collaborate and improve our beautiful university.

Damon Wright
SGA Vice President