Mississippi College

New Student Government Leaders Announced

April 15, 2008

Mississippi College's lineup of nine new student government leaders includes six from metro Jackson.

The group of officers for 2008-2009 includes Student Government Association President Harley McAlexander and Treasurer Jonathan Nutt. Both are Clintonians.

MC President Lee Royce and other school leaders were on hand as the officers were installed Tuesday.

Improving communications between the SGA and other students on the Clinton campus will be his top priority, McAlexander says. "I want to make SGA more visible to the student body," he said.

Earlier this month, the 2005 Clinton High grad defeated two other rivals, Alex Touchstone Jr. of Meridian, and Chase Porter of Picayune, to get elected. Adding more student-oriented events to the MC calendar and improving ties between MC and Clinton are other things he's pushing. McAlexander is a chemistry and Spanish major at 4,600-student MC.

McAlexander, who was the student government chief of staff the past 12 months, succeeded 2007-2008 SGA President Aaron Graham of Jackson. An MC senior and Jackson Academy graduate, Graham plans to attend law school next fall.

"I love being a voice of the students," said sophomore Katie Johnson, 19, the new SGA secretary from Madison. A 2006 Madison Central High graduate and marketing major, her job will be to publicize student government events. Johnson served as a senator this past year.

MC senior Andrew Duggar, who chairs the Men's Affairs Board, also is a Madison resident.

Others on the leadership team: SGA vice president Josh McCormick of Indianola; David Parker of Meridian, chair of the Campus Activities Board; Bethany Boteler of Florence, chair of the Women's Affairs Board; chief justice Peter Huwe of Corinth; and chief of staff Virginia Wright of Jackson.

An accident at a pool party soon after he graduated Corinth High in 2005 left Huwe, 21, paralyzed. He zips around the MC campus in Clinton in a wheelchair. The handicap hasn't slowed the determined chemistry and biology major who hopes to become a college professor. As chief justice, he handles student disciplinary matters not related to campus residence halls.

Jim Turcotte, the MC vice president for enrollment management and student affairs, is impressed with the new student leadership. "Everybody seems to have the enthusiasm and excitement."

PHOTO (left to right): FRONT ROW - Virginia Wright, Chief of Staff, Jackson; Peter Huwe, Chief Justice, Corinth; Bethany Boteler, Women's Affairs Board Chair, Florence; BACK ROW - Andrew Duggar, Men's Affairs Board Chairman, Madison; David Parker, Campus Activities Board Chairman, Meridian; Harley McAlexander, President, Clinton; Katy Johnson, Secretary, Madison; Josh McCormick, Vice President, Indianola; Jonathan Nutt, Treasurer, Clinton.

Request Information

Interested in attending Mississippi College? Fill out the form below and we’ll connect you with an admissions specialist to assist you in the admissions process.

Program of interest: