Skip to main content

Annual Chemistry Department Distinguished Alumnus Award

2021 - YA

Dr. Jeanann Suggs - '03, is a Radiation Oncology Specialist in Jackson, MS


Dr. Dale Touchstone - '79, is an Interventional Cardiologist in Meridian, MS.  He served as chief of medicine and second vice president at Riley Memorial Hospital.

2020 - YA

Dr. Melissa Bagwell Love, '02, is a Family Medicine Physician in Baton Rouge, LA.


Dr. Tonya Cannon Stewart - '94, is an Optometrist in Clinton, MS.

2019 - Young Alumnus of the Year

Dr. Karen Hand Hartness - '02, is the Department's first Young Alumnus of the Year.  She specializes in Orthopedic Trauma in Biloxi, MS.


Dr. Ashley Love Sumrall - '97, specializes in Hematology and Medical Oncology.  She practices in Charlotte, NC.


Dr. Todd Lawson - '90, is a Cardiology Specialist in Jackson, MS and has over 27 years of experience in the medical field.


Dr. Walterine H. Bell - '54, specialized in Psychiatry.  One of the first three women admitted to The Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson, MS.


Mrs. Andrea Greer Gramm - '91, currently tutors chemistry and other sciences and standardize exam preparation.  She is also a former chemist for Coca-Cola.


Dr. Michael Burczynski - '90, is a Senior Director and Head of Translational Biomarker Research at Teva Pharmaceuticals.  In his spare time he is a novelist and writes under the pen name Michael Ransom.


Dr. Scott Tynes - '84, Family Physician in Meridian, MS.


Dr. Kenneth Morton - '69, professor at Carson-Newman University.


Dr. C. Glenn Barnes - '76, Analytical Advisor for Microscopy and X-ray at Albemarle Corporation.


Dr. David Magers - '82, Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry, Mississippi College.


Dr. Randall Easterling - '73, is in private practice with River Region Health System and serves as medical director for Marian Hill Chemical Dependency Unit. He served as the 2009-2010 President of the Mississippi State Medical Association (MSMA).


Dr. Bradford Therrell, Jr. - '66, Professor Dept. of Pediatrics, UTHSCSA Director, National Newborn Screening and Genetics Resource Center (NNSGRC).


Dr. Lewis Metts - '64, President, Chief Executive Officer, Chairman of the Board and co-founder of Taxolog, Inc.


Dr. Jasper McPhail - '52, Retired Cardiovascular Surgeon.


Mr. Louis Lau - '65, Chairman Emeritus of AsiaInfo Holdings, Inc.


Mr. David Summers - '73, Director of Global Research and Development for Analytical Sciences, Dow Chemical Company.


Dr. James Holland - '69, Radiologist (retired), formerly Chairman, Department of Radiology, Trinity Medical Center, Carrollton, TX.


Dr. Samuel L. Maxwell, Jr. - '69, Radiologist, St. Jude Medical Center, Fullerton, CA.


Samuel D. Anderson - '57, Chairman of the Board, Hycor Biomedical. Former Senior Vice President, Hyland Division of Baxter Laboratories, CEO and Chairman of Alpha Therapeutic Corporation, President and CEO of Trancel Corporation. Also, currently serves on the boards of Cypress Bioscience, Inc. and Seracare Life Sciences.


Dr. John W. Legg - '58, Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, Mississippi College.


Dr. Daniel W. Jones - '71, Langford Professor of Medicine, Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs & Dean of the School of Medicine, University of Mississippi Medical Center.


Dr. Roy Alfred Berry, Jr. - '56, Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, Millsaps College.


Dr. Anselm C. Griffin, III - '69, Chairman, School of Textile and Fiber Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech). Formerly Bennett Distinguished Professor and Provost, University of Southern Mississippi.


Dr. Archie H. Germany - '39, Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, Mississippi College.


Dr. G. Dale Smith - '68, President of Greenbriar Construction Company.


Dr. Connie McCaa - '58, Professor of Ophthalmology and Biochemistry and Chief of Staff, University of Mississippi Medical Center.


Ray E. Hannah - '58, President of Porex Technologies.


Dr. Wayne Goodman - 68, Welch Professor of Chemistry, Texas A&M University. Also, recipient of the ACS Ipatieff Medal, the Arthur W. Adamson Award, and the Kendall Award.


Dr. George Butler - '38, Professor and Director of the Center for Macromolecular Science and Engineering, University of Florida and recipient of the ACS Award in Polymer Chemistry.

Positions Held by Mississippi College Chemistry Alumni

Alpha Therapeutics
College of American Pathologists
Matcote Corporation
National Cotton Council
Porex Technologies
Whatman Corporation

Dow Chemical, Research Division
Monsanto, Research and Development
National Science Foundation, Fellowships
Shell Oil Company, American Operations
Texas Department of Health, Chemical Services Division
U.S. Pipe, Chemical Research

Environmental Protection Agency, Head of Organic Chemicals
Presidential Citation for space capsule heat shields

Awards/ Honors:
American Chemical Society
Ipatieff Metal in Catalysis
Kendall Award in Surface Chemistry
Arthur W. Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry
Award in Polymer Chemistry
Honorary doctorates (at least 4)
Mississippi College Alumnus of the Year
Made-for-television movie

Medical Profession:
Chief, Cardiothoracic Surgery, Oral Roberts University
President, American Board of Pathologists
Chief of Staff, University of Mississippi Medical Center
Vice Chancellor, University of Mississippi Medical Center
President, Mississippi Medical Association
Chancellor, University of Mississippi

Vice President:
Armstrong Industries
Cambridge University, England
Mercer University
Millsaps College
Mississippi College
Phillips Petroleum
Prudential Securities
Shell Oil
University of Florida
University of Mississippi Medical Center
University of Notre Dame
University of Pittsburgh

Belhaven College
Carson Newman
Delta State University
Georgia Institute of Technology
Louisiana State University
Mercer University
Millsaps College
Mississippi College
Mississippi State University
Mississippi University for Women
Oral Roberts University
Texas A&M University
Tulane University
University of Arkansas
University of California
University of Florida
University of Mississippi
University of Mississippi Medical Center
University of Nevada
University of North Carolina
University of Notre Dame
University of Pittsburgh
University of Southern Mississippi
University of Tennessee