Skip to main content

Alumni Newsletter


Read the latest edition of The Prompter, our newsletter for MC Communication alumni and friends.  Included in the latest issue are updates on Communication facilities, new faculty, student evets, and more.

We want to hear from our alumni! Contact us to tell us more about your latest professional and personal news.

70 Years of Alumni Success Stories

Since our department's founding in 1950 by Hollis & Julia Todd, the Department of Communication has educated generations of Mississippi College students who have found professional and personal success in a variety of careers.

LinkedIn LogoCommunication Alumni Group
on LinkedIn

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

Ryan FortenberryDr. Ryan Fortenberry (M.S., ’07) is Associate Professor of Chemistry and Graduate Program Coordinator at the University of Mississippi in Oxford where he also serves as Affiliate Campus Coordinator for the Mississippi Space Grant Consortium.  Prior to his appointment at Ole Miss, he served as Associate Professor of Physical Chemistry at Georgia Southern University and taught in an adjunct role in MC’s Department of Communication.  Ryan earned his B.S. in Mathematics and the M.S. in Communication from Mississippi College.  He completed his Ph.D. at Virginia Tech University.  He also served as a post-doctoral researcher at the NASA Ames Research Center in Mountain View, Calif.  The author of nearly 150 peer-reviewed scientific publications, Ryan has received several NASA research grants, the Virginia Tech College of Science Outstanding Recent Alumni Award, and is the author of Complete Science Communication, a text on how to write and talk about science to expert and non-expert audiences.  A native of Clinton, Miss., Ryan lives in Oxford with his wife, Lauren, and their two children.

Courtney ParellaCourtney Parella (B.S., '14) is Regional Press Secretary for the National Republican Campaign Committee in Washington, D.C.  Prior to her time at the NRCC, she served as Deputy National Press Secretary for Donald J. Trump for President, Inc., and, for over five years, served in staff roles in the U.S. House of Representatives, including as Communications Director for the Committee on House Administration.  She began he career as an intern for the late Sen. Thad Cochran of Mississippi, and also worked for former Rep. Gregg Harper of Mississippi’s 3rd Congressional District.  Courtney received her bachelor’s degree in Communication with an emphasis in Public Relations from MC.  A native of Grenada, Miss., she lives in Washington, D.C.

Past Award Recipients

  • 2020 Distinguished Alumnus - Joey Smith
  • 2020 Distinguished Young Alumnus - Emily Alexander Moore
  • 2019 Distinguished Alumnus - Bob Sullender
  • 2019 Distinguished Young Alumnus - Randall Miller
  • 2018 Distinguished Alumnus - Mark Jones
  • 2018 Distinguished Young Alumnus - Ashley Cockerham Rea
  • 2017 Distinguished Alumnus - Derrick Fears
  • 2017 Distinguished Young Alumnus - Chase Sims
  • 2016 - Todd Brand
  • 2015 - Warren Strain
  • 2014 - Ben Ingram
  • 2013 - Rachel Carter
  • 2012 - Lisa Shoemaker
  • 2011 - Kenny Bizot
  • 2010 - Elizabeth Rooks-Barber
  • 2009 - Pete Smith
  • 2008 - Mary Catherine Gentry
  • 2007 - Barbie Bassett
  • 2006 - Michael Logue
  • 2005 - Neal Caldwell
  • 2004 - Anne Sullivan
  • 2003 - Lynda Houser
  • 2002 - Judy Lewis
  • 2001 - Judy Denson
  • 2000 - Mark Hester
  • 1999 - Donna Matthews
  • 1998 - Joe R. Lovelady
  • 1997 - Gayle Long Wicker
  • 1996 - Ann Marie Copeland

Support the Communication Department

We invite all MC Communication alumni and friends to consider supporting the work of the department with a financial gift.

Please contact us for more information on how you can impact our students with your generosity, or give today.